Endorsement Categories and Requirements

The infant mental health field is cross disciplinary. It spans a range of sectors and services, from promotion, prevention, intervention to leadership. Providers working with or on behalf of pregnant people, infants, toddlers, and their families to support ongoing, healthy social emotional development with a culturally sensitive, relationship focused framework are represented within the categories of the Infant Mental Health Endorsement® (IMH-E®)

To determine which category best represents your knowledge, skills and expertise it is helpful to begin by thinking about the scope of practice aligned with your professional experience within the infant mental health field.

Categories & Requirements

Endorsement applicants across all categories demonstrate their experience in and knowledge of the competency areas specific to their scope of work (detailed within the Competency Guidelines®) by documenting the following in an online, peer-reviewed application:

  • Education
  • Professional experience
  • Continuing education or in-service training
  • References
  • Reflective supervision experiences (in some categories)

And in some cases, applicants will be asked to take an exam tailored to their scope of work. 

Each IMH-E® category has specific work, education, in-service training, and reflective supervision/consultation (RSC) requirements. 

This table represents only a summary of the IMH-E® category requirements. Detailed information specific to each category can be viewed/downloaded below: